Local Food Gaps at City Market

Local Cheese

City Market carries over 2,000 Local or Made in Vermont products and we're looking for more. This is a partial list; more information about quantities and prices is available.

Fresh Produce

We are looking for select items of local produce and as availability is subject to change we would like to discuss the opportunity of working with new farm partners. Please contact Jason Pappas, City Market’s Downtown Produce Manager or Pat Chojnowski, City Market's South End Produce Manager, for more information at 861-9727 or 540-6404, or email Produce_Buyers@citymarket.coop.

Produce and Value-Added

  • Dried, Local Fruits
  • Frozen Fruits (raspberries, strawberries)
  • Frozen Veggies (edamame, peas, spinach)
  • Value-Added Fresh Greens
  • Nuts

Dairy & Perishables

  • Single-Serve Yogurt Drinks or Smoothies
  • Cottage Cheese
  • Sour Cream
  • Eggs

Grocery

  • Flour Tortillas
  • Packaged Dried Beans
  • Packaged or Fresh Pickles

Meat

  • Buffalo
  • Duck

Grains & Seeds

  • Barley
  • Blue Cornmeal
  • Rice
  • Rolled Oats
  • Specialty Flours (oat, sorghum, spelt, etc.)
  • Sunflower Oil
  • Sunflower Seeds
  • Sweet Sorghum Syrup

Wine & Beer

  • Beers brewed with local hops & other locally grown ingredients
  • Sparkling Wine

Saturated Categories

The following items are produced by an abundance of local producers.

  • Energy Bars
  • Granolas (though we would love a granola made with local ingredients)
  • Greeting Cards
  • Hot sauces
  • Jams
  • Roasted Coffee
  • Chocolate and Toffee 

Who to contact at City Market

Produce Department

Jason Pappas, Downtwon Produce Manager, (802) 861-9727 (jpappas@citymarket.coop)

Pat Chojnowski, South End Produce, (802) 540-6404 (pchojnowski@citymarket.coop)

Meat Department

Nick Canu, Downtown Meat & Seafood Manager, (802) 861-9705 (ncanu@citymarket.coop)

Dominic Barone. South End Meat & Seafood Manager, (802) 540 6425 (dbarone@citymarket.coop)

Bakery, Deli, Prepared Foods, and Specialty Cheese

Michael Clauss, Executive Chef, (802) 861-9799 (mclauss@citymarket.coop)

Grocery, Bulk, Dairy, and Perishables

Claire Ross, Asst. Director of Operations - Purchasing, (802) 861-9747 (cross@citymarket.coop)

Beer and Wine

Joey Bowling, Downtown Grocery Manager, (802) 861-9730 (jbowling@citymarket.coop)

Callie Twiss, South End Grocery Manager, (802) 540-6412 (ctwiss@citymarket.coop)