Gluten-Free Foods


Looking for gluten-free food and products? This guide is intended as a City Market shopping resource for those following a gluten-free diet. Please check each item’s list of ingredients to ensure that a product is gluten-free. Our staff is happy to answer any questions or help locate products.

glu·ten (gloot-n): The name given to certain proteins found in cereal grains such as wheat, barley, rye, and other derivatives. Oats are not recommended on a gluten-free diet because they can often contain trace amounts of gluten from cross contamination.

Foods Often Containing Gluten:

Breads, Breaded Food, Broth, Coating Mix, Chicken Nuggets, Croutons, Flour Tortillas, Fried Food, Imitation Bacon, Imitation Seafood, Marinades, Pasta (including Couscous), Pitas, Processed Meat, Roux, Sauces, Soy Sauce, Self-Basting Poultry, Soup Bases, Stuffings, Sweets (Doughnuts, Pies, Cookies, Cakes, Pastries), Thickeners


Grains Not Allowed in Any Form:

Barley, Bulgur, Cereal Flours, Einkorn, Emmer, Farro, Oat Bran, Rye, Triticale, and Wheat (varieties including but not limited to Durum, Graham, Kamut, Semolina, and Spelt)


Grains and Beans Allowed:

Amaranth, Arrowroot, Bean Flours, Buckwheat, Corn, Millet, Nut Flours, Potato, Quinoa, Rice, Sorghum, Soy, Tapioca, and Teff


Wheat-Free Does NOT mean Gluten-Free:

Wheat-free products may contain Rye, Barley, Spelt, or other ingredients that are not gluten-free.


Always Read the Label and Research:

Some ingredients are questionable and may or may not contain gluten. Be sure to confirm that the following ingredients are not derived from prohibited grains:

  • Blue Cheese - may be made with bread
  • Brown Rice Syrup - often from barley
  • Caramel Color - sometimes from barley
  • Dextrin – mainly from corn, but can be from wheat
  • Flour or Cereal Products
  • Hydrolyzed Plant or Vegetable Protein (HPP/HVP)
  • Malt, Malt Flavoring, or Malt Vinegar - usually from barley
  • Miso - may contain barley
  • Modified Food Starch
  • Seasoning & Spice Mixes
  • Soy Sauce - often contains wheat


Be a Food Detective:

Contact the manufacturer to verify a food in question. If you are in doubt, it is better to avoid that food until you can be sure it is gluten-free.


Need More Information?

Find out more about gluten-free foods and celiac disease from the Celiac Disease Foundation at and GFCF Diet Support at Living Without, a lifestyle magazine for people with allergies and food sensitivities can be found at


Bulk Department:

NOTE: Many items in our bulk department do contain gluten which may potentially cross contaminate gluten-free items.

Amaranth Seed
Balsamic Vinegar
Black Chia Seeds
Corn Cornmeal, Grits, Polenta
Flour Brown Rice Flour, Buckwheat Flour, Soy Flour, Chickpea Flour
Grain Rice, Millet, Quinoa
Pasta Brown Rice Spaghetti & Penne, Quinoa Spaghetti & Elbows
Starch Potato Starch, Arrowroot Powder, Tapioca Flour

Baking Supplies (Aisle 1):

AhLaska Baking Cocoa
Aleias Stuffing Mix (seasonal)
Arrowhead Mills Baking Mix, Cornmeal, Pancake Mix,
White Rice Flour
Bob’s Red Mill Almond Flour, Flaxseed Meal, GF Flour, Sorghum Flour
Cherrybrook Cake Mix, Vanilla & Chocolate Frosting
Chocolate Dream Baking Chips
Ener-G Potato Starch Flour, Vegan Egg Replacer
From the Ground Up
Pancake Mix
Ghirardelli Unsweetened Cocoa, Milk Chocolate Chips
Gluten Free Pantry Baking Mixes
King Arthur Multi-purpose Flour, Baking Mixes
Lets Do Organic Ice Cream Cones, Shredded Coconut, Coconut Flour, Sprinkles
Lundberg Brown Rice Syrup
Namaste Foods Baking Mixes
Native Sugar Packets
Nielsen Vanilla Extract
Pamelas Baking Mixes
Rumford Baking Powder
Spectrum Shortening
Wholesome Brown Sugar, Stevia


Beans and Grains (Aisle 2):

Alter Eco Rice (Black Jasmine, Coral Red, Ruby Red Jasmine, Thai White Jasmine, White Jasmine), Quinoa
Amy’s Beans
De La Estancia Polenta
Earthly Delights Quinoa
Eden Beans (Baked Beans, Black, Butter, Cannelini, Garbanzo, Great Northern, Kidney, Navy, Pinto, Refried), Quinoa
Fantastic Foods Hummus Mix, Refried Bean Mix
Field Day Beans (Black, Garbanzo)
Food Merchants Polenta
Lotus Foods Rice (Mekong Flower, Bhutanese Red, Forbidden Black, Indonesian Volcano Blend, Kalifira)
Lundberg Rice, Risotto
Natural Directions Beans (Black, Garbanzo, Great Northern, Kidney)
Nature’s Earthly Choice Quinoa
Westbrae Naturals Beans (Black, Chili, Garbanzo, Great Northern, Kidney, Lentil, Pinto, Red, Soy)


Beer and Wine Department:

NOTE: Wines made from 100% grapes are typically gluten-free, but you should check the labels of other wine-based beverages. Feel free to ask us if you have questions.

Artesano Meads
Bard’s Gold Gluten-Free Beer
Flag Hill Farm Hard Cyders
JK Scrumpy Hard Ciders
Magners Irish Hard Cider
Redbridge Sorghum Beer
Samuel Smith Organic Cider
St. Peter’s Sorghum Beer
Woodchuck Hard Ciders


Beverages (aisles 4, 6, 7):

Alo Aloe Juice
Blue Diamond Almond Beverage
Bragg Cider Vinegar Beverage
Cheribundi Cherry Juice
Edensoy Unsweetened Soymilk
Field Day Apple Juice, Sparkling Mineral Water
FIJI Water
Flavrz Juice Concentrates
Good Karma Ricemilk
GTs Kombucha Kombucha
Honest Tea, Juice Drinks
Kedem Sparkling Juice
Knudsen Juices, Spritzers
Kombucha Wonder Kombucha
Lakewood Juices
Living Harvest Hempmilk
Maine Root Rootbeer
Manitoba Harvest Hempmilk
Mountain Valley Spring Sparkling Water
Natural Brew Sodas
Pacific Almond & Rice Beverages
Q Tonic Tonic Water
Rice Dream Rice Beverages
Sambazon Juices
Santa Cruz Juices, Sparkling Juices
Smart Juice Juices
Source Juices
Soy Dream Beverages
Steaz Iced Tea
Stonyfield Smoothies
Vita Coco Coconut Water
WestSoy Beverages
Wildwood Smoothies
Wyman Juices
Zevia Sodas


Breads and Baked Goods (bakery):

NOTE: Our Deli Sandwich Counter can make your sandwich to order with Rudi’s gluten-free bread.

Against the Grain Bagels, Baguettes, Pizza Shells, Rolls
Chef Papi Cakes, Cookies, Tarts
Comfort Cookies Cookies
Food For Life Breads (Millet, Rice, Sprouted Grain), Rice Tortillas
Genoise Cheesecake
Gillian’s Food Pie Shell,
Pizza Dough
Grainaissance Mochi
It’s Gluten Free Breads, Brownies, Cookies,
Cupcakes, Pies
Maria and Ricardos Tortillas
Rudi’s Bread, Buns
Sonoma Teff Wraps
Udi’s Bagels, Bread, Buns
West Meadow Bakery Bagels, Breads, Cakes, Cookies, Muffins


Canned Fruits and Vegetables (aisle 4, 5, 6):

Bella Terra Tomatoes
Betty Crocker Potato Buds
Earths Best Pears
Eden Sauerkraut
Edward & Sons Mashed Potatoes
Muir Glen Tomatoes
Native Forest Artichokes, Fruit Salad, Mangos, Mushrooms, Papaya, Peaches, Pears, Pineapple
Santa Barbara Olive Co Olives
Westbrae Naturals Green Beans
Woodstock Farms Relish


Cereal and Bars (aisle 4, 5):

Arrowhead Mills Cereals, Corn Grits
Bakery on Main Granola
Bob’s Red Mill Hot Cereal, Oats
EnerG Rice Bran
Envirokidz Cereals, Bars
Erewhon Cereal
Glutino Bars
Kind Bars
Larabar Bars
Natures Path Cereal
Oskri Bars
Pocono Cereal
PranaBar Bars
Pulsin Bars
Raw Revolution Bars
True North Granola


Chips, Cookies, Crackers, and Snacks (aisle 4, 5, 7):

Amy’s Shortbread
Annies Homegrown Cookies
Back To Nature Crackers
Blue Diamond Crackers
Calbee Snack Salad
Deep River Chips
Eden Dried Cherries
Edward Rice Crackers
Enjoy Cookies
Food Should Taste Good Chips
Garden of Eatin’ Chips
Glutino Cookies
Green Mtn Gringo
Tortilla Chips
Guiltless Gourmet
Tortilla Chips
Hain Rice Snacks
Jennies Coconut Macaroons
Jovial Cookies
Rhythm Superfoods Kale Chips
Kettle Chips Chips
KOYO Rice Cakes (Dulse, Millet, Mixed Grains, Nori)
Lundberg Chips, Rice Cakes
Madhouse Munchies Chips
Mary’s Gone Crackers Chocolate Chip Cookies, Pretzels (Curry, Sea Salt)
Midel Cookies
Miguels Tortilla Chips
Mrs Crimbles Macaroons
Pamelas Cookies
Pirate Brands Snacks
Popcorn Indiana Chips, Kettlecorn
Real Foods Corncakes
Sahale Mixed Nuts
SAN-J Rice Crackers
Snyders Pretzels
Suzies Puffed Rice Cakes
Tanka Buffalo Bites


Chocolate and Candy (aisle 6, 7):

Bumble Bar Energy Bars
Chocolove Chocolate Bars
Crispy Cat Candy Bar
Dagoba Chocolate Bars
Endangered Species Bars
Equal Exchange Chocolate Bars
GLEE Chewing Gum
Go Naturally Hard Candy
Joyva Halvah Bar
Lets Do Organic Candy
Liz Lovely Cookies
Newmans Own Candy
PEELU Chewing Gum
Reed’s Ginger Candy
Ritter Sport Chocolate Bars
Sun Cups Candy
Surf Sweets Candy
Terra Nostra Chocolate Bars
Theo Chocolate Bars
Tropical Source
Chocolate Bars
Vermint Breathmints
Yummy Earth Candy
Yummy Earth Lollipops


Coffee, Tea, and Hot Cocoa (aisle 1):

AhLaska Hot Cocoa Mix
Bigelow Tea
Celestial Seasonings Tea
Eco Teas Tea
Equal Exchange Hot Cocoa Mix
Mount Hagen Freeze Dried Coffee
Organic India Tea
Teeccino Herbal Coffee
Twinings Chai


Dairy and Non-Dairy Alternatives (coolers):

Brown Cow Yogurt
Butterworks Farm Buttermilk
Chobani Greek Yogurt
Daiya Dairy Free Cheese
Earth Balance Soy Milk,
Soy Egg Nog
Fage Greek Yogurt
Follow Your Heart Dairy Free Cheese
Galaxy Cheese Substitute
Greek Gods Greek Yogurt
Lifeway Kefir
Nancy’s Cottage Cheese, Yogurt
Oak Knoll Goat Yogurt
Old Chatham Sheepherding Sheeps Milk Yogurt
Organic Valley Soy Beverage
Redwood Kefir
Redwood Hill Farm Goat Yogurt
So Delicious Coconut Creamer
Stonyfield Yogurt
Wallaby Yogurt Co Yogurt
Wildwood Soy Yogurt


Ethnic Food (aisle 2):

Annie Chun Rice Noodles
Eden Japanese Foods
Jyoti Indian Meals
Morinu Tofu
Native Forest Coconut Milk
Seeds of Change Indian Curries
Tasty Bites Indian Meals
Thai Kitchen Chili Paste, Coconut Milk, Fish Sauce, Rice Noodles, Sauces


Frozen Desserts (freezer):

Ciao Bella Gelato, Sorbet
Luna & Larry’s Coconut Bliss Ice Cream
Purely Decadent Coconut and Soy Ice Creams
So Delicious Dairy Free Desserts
Soy Dream Soy Ice Cream
Talenti Gelatos
Tru Whip Whipped Topping


Frozen Entrees, Fruits, and Vegetables (freezer):

Against the Grain Pizzas
Amy’s Enchiladas, Paneer, Pastas, Pizzas, Pot Pies,
Stir Fries, Tamales
Gluten Free Cafe Pasta
Gluten Freeda’s Burritos
Ian’s French Fries
Tandoor Chef Indian Meals
Wyman Frozen Fruit


Meat and Meat Substitutes (Freezer):

Amy’s Veggie Burgers
Applegate Farms Turkey Bacon, Chicken Nuggets, Sausage
Dr. Praeger’s Broccoli Patties
Ian’s Chicken Nuggets
Nasoya Tofu
Sheltons Sausage
Sunergia Tofu
Sunshine Burger Veggie Burgers
Vermont Soy Tofu

Pasta (aisle 6):

Ancient Harvest Quinoa Quinoa Pastas
Bionaturae Pastas
Hodgson Mill Pastas
Hol Grain Brown Rice Bread Crumbs
Jovial Rice Pastas
Lundberg Brown Rice Pastas
Tinkyada Brown Rice Pastas

Soup and Boxed Goods (aisle 4):

Amy’s Soups
Annies Homegrown
Mac & Cheese
Better Than Bouillon Soup Stock
Dr McDougall Soups
Edward Miso Soups
Health Valley Soups, Broths
Imagine Soups, Broths
Kitchen Basics Soup Stock
Pacific Soups, Broths
Progresso Classics Lentil Soups
Roads End Organics Gravy Mix
Sheltons Chicken Broths
South River Miso Soups
Taste Adventure Soup Mix
Thai Kitchen Rice Noodle Bowl
Vogue Soup Stock


Spreads, Sauces, and Dressings (aisles 2, 4, 6, 7):

Amy’s Pasta Sauce
Annies Naturals Barbecue Sauces, Salad Dressings, Horseradish Mustard
Arrowhead Mills Peanut Butter
Bella Famiglia Balsamic Vinegar
Bionaturae Balsamic Vinegar
Boves Pasta Sauce
Bragg Cider Vinegars, Vinaigrette
Briannas Salad Dressings
Crofters Jelly
Dell Amore Pasta Sauces
Dr Bronners Coconut Oil
Drews Salad Dressings, Salsa
Dwight Miller Cider Vinegars
Eden Mustards, Sesame Oils, Vinegars
Field Day Salsas
FINI Balsamic Vinegar
Follow Your Heart Egg-free Mayonnaise
Frontera Salsas
Gingerbrook Farm Cider Vinegar
Hatch Chile Sauces
Hot Mamas Hummus
Justins Nut Butters
Lucini Vinaigrettes
M Federzoni Balsamic Vinegar
Maranatha Peanut Butters
Martial Picat Vinegar
Maya Kamal Indian Foods
Mazzetti Balsamic Vinegar
Meditalia Pesto, Tapenade
Mediterranean Organic Preserves
Mom’s Pasta Sauces
Muir Glen Pasta Sauces
Napa Valley Vinegar
Nasoya Nayonaise
Newmans Own Balsamic Vinegar, Italian Dressing,
Pasta Sauces, Salsa
Nutiva Coconut Oil
Once Again Sunflower Butters
Organicville Ketchup, Vinaigrettes
Pierre Gingras Cider Vinegar
Regina Vinegar
Salpica Salsas, Bean Dips
San-J Sauces, Tamari
Seggiano Balsamic Vinegar
Shurfine Cider Vinegar
Spectrum Mayonnaise, Vinegars
Sungold Sunflower Butters
Timpones Salsas
Vermont Village Apple Butter
Villa Manodori Balsamic Vinegar
Westbrae Naturals Ketchup
Woodstock Farms Relish
Yucatan Guacamole


Wellness Department:

Alacer Citrus Immune Shot
Amazing Grass Green Superfood
Blue Bonnet Astaxanthin
Canus Goat Milk Lotion
City Market Protein Powders
Desert Essence Bodywash, Concealer
Garden of Life Meal Replacement
Giovanni Tea Tree Shampoo & Conditioner, Hair Infusion
Green Foods Nutrional Supplement
Jarrow Protein Supplement
Kiss My Face Shower Gel, Deodorant, Lip Balm, Moisturizer, Creme, Shave Moisturizer, Soap, Toothpaste
Kyolic Nutrional Supplement
Living Harvest Protein Supplement
Manitoba Harvest Protein Supplement
Mommys Bliss Morning Sickness Magic
Natralia Eczema & Psoriasis Cream, Heel Balm
Natrol Acai
Natures Life Protein Supplement
Natures Plus Protein Supplement
Nutiva Chia Seed, Hemp Protein Powder
NutriBiotic Protein Supplement
Nutrition Now Adult Multi Vitamin
Orgain Meal Replacement
Quigley Cold-Eeze
Rainbow Colloidal Oatmeal Bath
Rainbow Light Cleansers, Vitamins, Rice Protein Powder
Sambazon Acai Powder
Solgar Protein Supplement
Soothing Touch Massage Oil
Spectrum Ground Flaxseed
Teras Whey Whey Protein